Happy Mother’s Day! ❀

Happy Mother’s Day to all you wonderful moms out there! Some of you have never given birth to children, yet, you may have raised one or many children in your lifetime. A special shout out to my co-worker, Ann, who never had kids, but she mothers her sister’s two autistic boys on the weekend, every weekend. She is definitely A++ in my book!

I’m thankful to have had quite a few mothers in my life. My mom is still mothering me, whenever she can. I’m still her baby, as is my older brother, who turns 49 this year. She still wants to take on all our problems and raise her blood pressure in the process. Thanks, mom 🙂

My grandmother, on my mother’s side, lived with us for quite sometime while I was growing up. She was pretty much the stand in for my father, who reneged on his paternal duties. Other than babysitting, her job was to tell us all about life in the countryside, take us to church, and fill our heads with all the ghost stories she had in her arsenal. She passed away about 3 years ago at age 97 and I still think about her all the time.

My tiny elementary school only had female teachers so there was a lot of mothering – and a lot of corporal punishment – to be received there. My high school was also filled with female teachers and nuns, and it was an all-girls school. Looking back, that was a great, safe environment for me and I wish my daughter could have the all-girls experience as well, but that’s not to be. In my high school we were raised to be proud women. No one cursed the boys and we certainly didn’t hate them. (Heck there were 4 new mothers-to-be graduating with me that year!) Instead, we learned that being women, sisters, and females, even in a male-dominated society, was something to take pride in. We were taught to be independent and the importance of a good education. Thanks, Sister Maureen-Clare (and the rest of you!)

I’ve baby-sat almost all of my nieces and nephew (all in-laws) at some point in their lives and had the great pleasure of caring for one of them for the first year of her life while her parents were stationed overseas. In that particular case, the way I see it is that she helped me overcome one of the biggest challenges I had ever faced in my lifetime – a failed pregnancy at 6 months – and she doesn’t know how eternally grateful I am that I had her to care for while I recovered. Thanks, L!

Having children has been somewhat of a challenge for me but I take it in stride. I have one special needs child who pretty much has been my constant cause of concern but she has matured so much that I know all the meetings, medication, and tears were all worth it. As she enters high school in the autumn, I am confident she will have a decent chance in life. She’s come such a long way and I’m so proud of her. My son, who I refer to as my clown, has yet to settle down. He brings me so much laughter and silliness, I have to remind myself that were it not for having to return my niece, L, to her parents when they returned to the US, he might not have existed. My son is always up for anything, I just have to say it. We dance, we laugh, we tell silly jokes, we hug. We watched “Oz the Great and Powerful” and “The Hobbit” together and talk about our favorite scenes. Such good fun….

Anyway, I’ve rambled on enough. Today, I will be glued to the TV to see if my favorite Barclay’s Premier League team, Manchester City, will win the title race this year or if Liverpool will knock them out. I’m not cooking today. I’ll call my mom and several other of my mom friends and wish them all Happy Mother’s Day.

To all you moms out there, cheers and I hope you get to spend your day doing whatever you wish, whatever it may be.

4 replies

  1. So glad you remembered all the ones who mothered you along your way in life, Belle! That is so sweet of you! I also think the ones who adopted or were aunts and teachers are always good to be thanked for their good jobs. You sound like a very good mother and I am so happy that your daughter is coming along and your silly son, will in his ‘due time!’ Happy belated Mother’s Day and thanks for the great comments on my Healthy Breakfast post! Smiles, Robin

    Like

Leave a Reply

