Resolution Wk 6 ❦ Getting more zzz’s

garfield groggyI should probably have spent the entire year focusing on getting more sleep.

I am so sleep-deprived. I’m like a walking zombie every day.

As one of my most important goals set to achieve this year, the idea of getting 8 hours of sleep a night is increasingly becoming a distant dream.

A big part of my problem is just bad habits. No matter how tired I am, no matter how much I plan to, I still don’t get to bed before midnight on most nights. And that’s really being generous. It’s not uncommon for me to turn off all the lights and hit the sheets in the early hours of one or two o’clock. And then I still have to be up by 6:00 am.

Even if I do get to bed by midnight, I lay there with my eyes wide open, trying to sleep, but sensitive to every sound the house makes. Eventually I might nod off in another hour but I still wake up groggy and do my 5 km walk or run.

Help! Lack of Sleep Keeps You Fat!

Garfield sleeping on couchResearch shows that insufficient sleep suppresses gastrointestinal hormone leptin, resulting in you feeling less satisfied after eating. Lack of sleep also causes a rise in the other hormone, ghrelin, stimulating your appetite and making you want to eat more. In another research at the University of Chicago testing the effects of sleep on weight loss, participants in a controlled study lost almost three times as much fat – though the same amount of overall weight – during the times they slept 7.5 hours compared to when they slept for 5 hours.

I’m practically sabotaging my own plans, then, by only having 4 – 6 hours of sleep per night. And I’m already aware of how great I feel when I do get more zzz’s. Stepping on the scale after a very good night’s sleep on a Friday night can show a deficit of 3 lbs from the previous morning for me!

And what am I doing up so late at night, people often ask me? I have not the slightest idea! I’m up because I enjoy the peace and quiet and this is the only time of day I’m going to get it: when everyone else is gone to bed. I just do whatever I feel like at that time (make that “this time”, as it’s now almost 1:00 am). But now it’s really become an unbreakable habit that I will have to break.

Of course, I feel like crap all day when I don’t sleep properly at night. At the very least, not getting enough sleep can be very detrimental to your health. Your body and mind need to recharge, cells need to regenerate, and your body’s metabolism works more efficiently after a good night’s rest.

I’m really going to have to try that much harder for this one seemingly insurmountable task. So, for the next two weeks, I’m setting the alarm for 10 pm to go to bed. Then hopefully, I can get in by 10:45 pm and be asleep by 11 pm.

Fingers crossed.

garfield-dreaming-of-garfield-sleeping

9 replies

  1. Being a night owl is such a tough habit to break! I used to be one of those people that couldn’t fall asleep before 1 am no matter what I did. After a few years of forcing myself to get into bed earlier, like you appear to be doing, it finally started to happen naturally. I still stay up too late once a week or so, but I find it doesn’t affect me as negatively as it used to. Good luck!

    Your blog looks great, I’m really happy I stumbled upon it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for stopping by! I wish I could overcome this late night habit. My mom still tells stories of me never wanting to go to bed early even as a baby 🙂 I’m hoping that if I really focus on it these next 2 weeks I’ll find it easier each week after that.

    Thanks for the compliment! I, too, am happy you stumbled upon my blog 🙂 I enjoyed reading your blog, also. Hope to learn a thing or two 🙂

    Like

  3. You know, all those facts about sleep deprivation are probably true no doubt…but they just make me more anxious I could very well lose sleep over it;)
    Btw, I’ve been absent for a week or so as I was busy redoing my entire site…it’s been kind of a hassle, but you can now find ‘us’ at http://www.satnat.net (I’m working on getting my posts appear in your reader, which right now they don’t, because I’m no longer hosted by WordPress)

    Like

    • I was wondering why I wasn’t getting anything. I thought they would automatically pop into my reader anyway. I’ve been manually searching for your blog anyway, but would like to see you, Lester, and Basil as I normally would 😉

      Like

      • Yeah, I’ve been getting quite a few comments on not appearing in people’s reader anymore. Guess it serves me right for leaving WordPress.com…don’t worry, though, you didn’t miss anything. I spent a week trying to get my new site working.
        Until I can find a better solution, I will post a small, one sentence post on my old site each time I put out new material on satnat.net, linking to the original article. That way people will know when I posted something. It’s just one extra mouse click away, I’m afraid;)
        (Btw, to make things easier to follow, I’m posting only once a day, every day at 8AM Eastern time. Lester, whom I believe is your favorite, is up every Monday at 8 (including today)…

        It’s kinda ironic I guess…because of all the site changes I didn’t get much sleep last week. Your post really struck a chord;)

        Like

        • Cool! I don’t want to miss any of the good stuff 🙂
          Yep, get more sleep! I could live perfectly fine sleeping from 1 am to 9 am, but unfortunately, they need me to get to work by 9am…and I’m already not even doing that!

          Like

Leave a Reply

