Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster

Dear Friend,

Green eyed monster

I enjoyed hearing your stories of the wonderful new relationship that you’ve found.Your trip to Europe last week where you showed me pictures of Spain, France, and Greece left me in complete awe. The fact that your new boyfriend buys you new shoes and clothes all the time is truly remarkable! What a wonderful man you have! He has also entered your life at a time when you had lost all faith in good relationships. 

I could not be more happy for you!

However, my friend, I am positively green with envy every time you tell me one of your stories. In reality I just can’t stand to listen to any of them anymore! Yes, I smile and nod and “ooh!” and “aah!” along with everyone else but I begrudge you every one of those experiences.

I know I have committed #6 of the seven deadly sins, but I don’t care.

It was my dream to tour Europe! Why doesn’t my significant other buy me tons of shoes and clothes? I should be living your life. It was meant for me!

Understand that I bear you no ill will and we will always be friends.

Covetously yours,

Anonymous

4 replies

  1. I understand these feelings completely! I envy the travelers and adventurers, too! But here is a bit of cheery news for you! I nominated you on a short list of 10 people who blog for any number of awards on my post, “My Spirits Rise with Receiving Awards.” Check out my blog and you would love to see all the awards you can receive! Please follow the links to find rules and other things, like logos that you can post when you accept the nominations!

    Like

  2. Thank you very much for your thoughtful words about how you feel about the world and how you are agnostic. I like the word agnostic better than atheist. I think you have strong beliefs in mankind, hoping for peace and understanding among people. Your thoughts added so much to my post, Belle. Take care, Robin

    Like

    • I too prefer this word over atheist. I’d rather say that I don’t know either way (agnostic) than to decide definitely that there is no God or that there is one. I still tend towards not believing, but I don’t worry about it too much.

      Like

Leave a Reply

