My love affair with tea

I am passionate about drinking tea. I can’t get enough of it. I consume tea the way that some people drink juice or coffee or water.

Over the years, I have tried a variety of morning hot beverages. I’ve had coffee, Horlicks, Bournvita, and several variations of tea. These days I start my morning with a strong cup of coffee at work, followed by another 4 cups of green tea throughout the day. After returning home in the evening, I consume another 2 cups before getting to bed.

Hmmm, is this an addiction? Perhaps, but a healthy addiction, I would say. A little research will reveal hundreds of websites and studies touting the health benefits of green tea. Full of antioxidants, vitamin C, heart healthy, etc, etc!!

But that’s not why I love it. I love tea because it makes me feel so absolutely wonderful. Yes, the health benefits are a great bonus, too. I used to buy really expensive tea every other month from the popular tea store near my home. Oh god, I love that store. I would enter and feel like I belonged there. I would easily spend almost $300 on two months supply of Gyokuro green tea. I’d buy the less expensive Sencha if I couldn’t afford my favorite blend that month.

Gyokuro is Japanese for “jewel dew”. Even the translation reveals its subtle nature. Gyokuro is very luscious and smooth. Consuming it is such a sensual experience. Besides, I told myself, I don’t spend money on anything else for me. This was my one true love. I had to have it everyday, all day.

After several months I realized that this relationship could not continue as it was. I was slowly going broke trying to bankroll this high maintenance love affair. I had to compromise and lower my standards. I had to stop patronizing the tea store. I had to sever ties with Gyokuro.

I have not been the same ever since. Cutting back on my expenses, I have started to purchase green tea from the supermarket (oh!). Even this was touch and go for awhile as I searched for a suitable replacement for my beloved jewel dew. Eventually I settled upon a much less expensive alternative befitting the reality of my finances, but reasonably satisfying.

I try not to go past the tea store anymore. The temptation is too great to slip back into my old expensive habit. In the meantime, I try to stimulate and nurture a new relationship with a different brand. I think we’ll be very happy together.

Categories: humor, life

Tagged as:

5 replies

  1. How about buying loose leaf tea and brewing it many times (like it’s supposed to be brewed!)?

    If you buy Chinese or Japanese green tea and brew seven grams of it, which lasts all day (that’s a lot), using a tea infuser, it should cost about $1 a day. That $1 investment will more than pay off in increased productivity and happiness. You’ll also see the flavour profile change during the course of the day.

    Like

    • I used to buy Gyokuro and Sencha loose leaf teas.. It still cost me a whole lot! I have a few infusers as well. But since I drink it all day it became such an expensive habit. I’ve never been able to reuse the infused tea more than once and still enjoy it. But you’re right about my increased happiness. Drinking it always enhanced my calm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

