Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Remember your first crush?

I have not been blessed with romantic partners. All my liaisons, boyfriends, and husband have not been gifted by Cupid. While I have always been the romantic, you see, I tend to go for the level-headed, mature thinker (except for that one time… and the time after that…) My Valentine Days and Nights of the past and present are generally devoid of romance, flowers, and lovie-dovieness.

vladstudio_knight_lady_1600x1200_signed

I used to yearn for the knight in shining armor, but alas, I’m too old to believe in fairy tales.
Photo: http://www.vladstudio.com

Back in the day, though I’ve had my share of crushes. I can think way back to my earliest when I was about 5 years old and he would have been about 9 and in my brother’s class. Shelton was his name. I didn’t even know what I was feeling back then. Just that every time I saw him, I would run and hide.

After that it was Maurice. Oh my God. That was a hard crush. He was drop-dead-gorgeous. He and his brother both arrived from “Flushing Meadows, New York” and were going to be living in Jamaica for a while. I was 6, Maurice was 10, his brother was 9. They both started out in a higher grade, but could not keep up with the work required and so both landed in my class. I was so in love that I would not go outside to recess for the entire time they were there, for fear of Maurice actually speaking to me. Everyday was full of fear, sweaty palms, and racing heartbeats. I still remember one girl in my class making fun of me because I was “in love with one of the American boys.” Oh the shame…I believe they eventually moved to another school.

Fast forward to when I was 10 years old and my best friend, Yasmin, and I were in love with two other best friends. That was. like, the best thing ever!! But we never told them, of course. We just played it cool all day and chattered like chipmunks when we walked home together from school. Then the day came when our class teacher wanted to break us up. Ack! Our desks seated two pupils each and she put me to sit beside my crush and Yasmin to sit next to hers….eeek!!!  It was awful! Thankfully I got a reprieve and was moved to another seat the following day. Yasmin, however, remained next to Wilson for the remainder of the school year.

As luck would have it, I attended an all girls high school (7th – 13th grade) and was spared any further awkward seating structures thereafter. My brother’s friends weren’t that attractive either so they never provided any heart throbbing moments for me.

However, on the first day of the 9th grade, as all us girls were seated up at the Phys Ed area having our first meeting as a grade for the new school year, in walked Mr. P. I remember this exactly like it was yesterday, and I know many of my school mates still do. To us 12 and 13 year olds, full of puberty and lacking any kind of under-35 male interaction at school, he was the hottest thing ever. He and a few female teachers were there in Jamaica on a placement program fresh from graduating from Boston University. It was supposed to be a Catholic-type teacher exchange program. I remember Miss Lawrence (surely close to 100 years old) was in full speech when he appeared. You could hear a pin drop as the deafening silence invaded the space. Then, the room slowly filled with the giggling and chattering of 300 teenage girls. Miss Lawrence whispered something to the teaching Adonis and (gasp!) he exited the room! We all simultaneously heaved a great “AWWWWW!!!!” at which Miss L was not amused. In the days that followed, everyone wanted to know who was that cute guy? Was he going to be teaching our class? What did he teach? What was his name? Where did he live??? For the next 3 years that he was there, I was terrified of being anywhere near him. I thought I would just blurt out something stupid at one point or another. But there he was at every school dance helping out and at every place I bloody well seemed to be! But he was a teacher and nothing was ever going to happen…not with me anyway…

Since high school, I’ve learned to deal with my crushes and not just run in the other direction. Sometimes they didn’t work out the way I wanted to, but for the most part, the majority had been successful at the time. My first real boyfriend, for instance, was a crush that I felt brave enough to go to and make my presence known to him. I actually tripped him up intercepted him after work on the way to the bus stop after seeing him walk by there every day. Our relationship is long since over, but we still remain friends and are in touch with each other across continents.

vladstudio_when_you_are_in_love_1600x1200_signed

Happy Valentine’s Day, Everyone!
Photo: http://www.vladstudio.com

Inspired by The Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love

4 replies

Leave a Reply

