Resolution Wk 4 ❧ Zumba!

This past week, my focus has been more on exercise, now that I more or less have a good eating regimen going.

I usually get up early weekday mornings and drag my tired self on to the treadmill for a 5K run. I’m not totally mentally ready for it and I may only have had 5 hours sleep the night before (#1 Bad Habit) but I do it anyway, because who can survive on 1230 calories a day? Exercising means I can eat just a tad more.

Zumba classOn Tuesdays after work, I go to a Zumba class at a wellness center just next to my office. Our class is small (about 8 ladies) and the instructor, in all seriousness, is a maniac. She must be in her late 40′s/early 50′s, but she has so much energy! Teaching Zumba is her full time job so she has about 5 – 6 classes per day. She’s just a a little dynamo! We try our hardest best to keep up with her because sometimes she’ll get an idea in her head about a good dance move and then she’s out there zumba-ing in her belly dancing wrap at her own dynamic pace. She has a selection of modern salsa, rumba, reggaeton, and uptempo dance music for us to have an hour’s workout. You know she’s really getting her second or third wind when “I’m sexy and I know it” by LMFAO starts to play in the 45th minute of class and she’s doing “the wiggle dance.” Even when we’re cooling down, she gets well into it when her favorite song “Time to Say Goodbye” by Andrea Bocelli queues up. It’s a good workout and I’m sweating like a pig (if indeed a pig could sweat) when class is over.

I almost didn’t go this evening, but The Hot Latina on my team brought blueberry cake to work and, well, I had to have some…a lot. If my midsection is ever to look like this chick below, I can’t afford to miss one single class!

This is how I've always imagine my mid-section to look, but my mirror doesn't seem to want to get with the program!

This is how I’ve always imagined my mid-section to look, but my mirror doesn’t seem to want to get with the program

I should say that it was not my idea originally to start going to this Zumba fitness class. My manager, who wanted to lose some weight before her trip to Aruba this month, wanted some company to attend the class, so 6 of us in all signed up. They all dropped it after the 6-week session so it’s just me left from the team! I managed to convince one other person from my office to sign up for this session so that’s not bad. The other ladies in the class were there for the previous session so we’re all kind of used to each other now.

It really is a fun, party class and I would recommend Zumba classes to anyone who doesn’t have any type of physical impairment. I’ve decided I’m going to stick to it for the rest of the year as an added fitness session for the week.

Zumba!!

2 replies

Leave a Reply

