Grammy Night 2014

It’s the 56th Annual Grammy Awards!

Grammys-2014This year, I thought I’d make an extra special attempt to watch the event on CBS. I actually know some of the artists this year! It’s also been a long time since I’ve watched the Grammy’s.

So, having fed the family and gotten most of my Sunday tasks almost completed, and with Twitter open on the phone in case I needed to learn something special, I tuned in at 8:00 p.m.

I was rooting for all the performers I’ve been listening to on BBC Radio 1 over the past year or so. I have music on my MP3 player by Macklemore, Imagine Dragons, Lorde, Robin Thicke, and Daft Punk. Yeah, I’m down with the kids, I thought.

The opening act was Beyoncé, which I only figured out after Jay-Z came up on the stage and they started “doing their thing” together. I was, like, who the heck is Jay-Z’s rubbing up on when other guys can’t even perform a song together with Beyoncé? That’s when I realized that the chick doing the steamy lap dance on the chair was in fact Queen B herself. My bad. I’d never seen her with her hair like that before. She’s sizzling.

I then had a flashback of Billy Joel’s opening act in 1989 with “We Didn’t Start the Fire” and I thought, hmm, the opening acts over the years have really changed. Can’t imagine what I would have done during the 1986 Grammy’s if, during “Russians”, Sting had somehow done a little strip tease…Well, my teenage self would have drooled and whooped, I guess, as many teens and older would have done tonight during the performance of B, herself.

When I saw that the host was the lip-smacking LL Cool J himself, I thought, whew! Well that’s good. He’s around my age, so I’m not so old then! Hooray! Then I saw Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr….older than my parents…

Still, it was a great night. It was truly awesome to see Yoko Ono, the remaining Beatles, and the whole audience rocking out to Daft Punk and Stevie Wonder performing “Get Lucky.” The old meets the new. And can someone translate to me what Ozzie was saying, please?

daft punk

Daft Punk

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis got Best New Artist plus 3 more awards (woo-hoo!) and Daft Punk won the Record of the Year plus four others. Pink’s annual gravity-defying performance above the crowd reminded me of why I was never any good in gymnastics, me being barely able to do a proper cartwheel. And then she still had enough breath to sing the subsequent duet with Nate Reuss. Sorry, Queen B, I thought this was a much better use of the stage…though you are sizzling hot…

My favorite surprise of the night was “Same Love” performed by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. Thirty-three couples – gay, straight, mixed-race, or none of the above – were joined in matrimony during their performance, with Queen Latifah officiating and Madonna lending her talents to the event. Really had me misty-eyed afterwards. I’m sure some of the audience were uncomfortably squirming in their seats. “Omigosh!” they’ll think. “I’ve just attended a gay wedding!” Well you can’t un-attend it, I say! And it was truly a beautiful sight to behold.

Macklemore performs "Same Love" while Queen Latifa officiates over a mass wedding at the 56th Grammys. FREDERIC J. BROWN/AFP/GETTY IMAGES

Macklemore performs “Same Love” while Queen Latifah officiates over a mass wedding at the 56th Grammys.
FREDERIC J. BROWN/AFP/GETTY IMAGES

Grammys staples center

The Staples Center was decked out to look like a church during the performance
Credits: KEVIN WINTER/WIREIMAGE

I was happy to put “Downton Abbey” and “Sherlock” on DVR for one night only while watching this memorable event. Seeing the Grammys for the first time after all these years reminded me of how much I used to enjoy watching the award ceremony every year. It was time well-spent.

Now to see what Lady Mary and her crew are up to.

Meanwhile here’s my fellow-blogger, Robin’s take on the Grammy Awards Show.

2 replies

  1. Thank you for linking me to your post, Belle! I am so glad you had the wedding and also, more about the musicians than I had written! I was not sure when I was running out of room to include the Pink athletics and also, glad you included one of the best opening acts way back when in 1988! I like Macklemore and Lewis, too! I also forgot how to spell Nate Reuss! I am so glad you had these “missing parts” so we have a ‘whole” together, Belle! Take care and so glad you enjoyed watching the Grammy’s and glad I had a part in that, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

